StudyNotesWiki

• Increase font size
  • Default font size
  • Decrease font size
Home Forum
Welcome, Guest
Please Login or Register.    Lost Password?
Go to bottomPage: 1
TOPIC: Anybody else working and studying?
Anybody else working and studying? 3 Years, 5 Months ago Karma: 28
Hi everybody,
I'm new to the site so I'll do my intro and question one time

Name's Steve-o and I'm 22 years old. I've been doing my BCom: HRM course for 3 years now. I work from 8am to 4:30pm (Monday to Friday) and study every week night (sometimes on the weekend if needed). I'm basically a '2nd year' student with just one subject still 1st year (Accounting )

Now that's over and done with, how do you guys handle studying whilst working full-time? From an academic to attitude.
I've found that 3 modules a sem work best for me. Basically try to finish a study unit a night (3 hours) and have the 4th day in case of whatever (sick, didn't finish, assignments).
It's going well I guess but I'm sure I can improve my general studying methods. I'm not a star student by any means but did get my Matric Exemption through an IEB school. So how do you guys structure your schedule?

I feel my biggest hurdle is fatigue and focus. I find it very hard to put in +-3 hours of good quality studying a night after a long day at work. I work for a newspaper doing advert/layout design and it's full RPM just about everyday with deadlines and such. I often come home and just sleep for 2 hours, then drag my books out to study. It's taking it's toll on me mentally these couple years and I'm only half way.
Sorry sounds like I'm having a pity party here, I know, I'm not painting a very rosy picture! However I do feel I'm lucky to have the opportunity to study and I'm young enough to do it without the pressures of having more responsibility like a wife and family. So yeah I do know I'm in fortunate position.